Adel St John the Baptist 

Church of England Primary School


‘This school is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare

of children and young people and expects all staff, volunteers and

visitors to share this commitment’.

The Governing Body


The Governing Body have an essential role in ensuring that this school fulfills and maintains it's obligations to meet National Standards by providing a broad, exciting and balanced curriculum to all our pupils. In addition to operating within financial, legal and safeguarding expectations.

The Governing Body consists of a cross section of representatives who have a keen interest in the right and proper operation of this school ensuring that all pupils reach their full potential. 

The membership of the Governing Body at Adel St John the Baptist is represented by Foundation, LEA, Parent and Staff Governors who complete an audit of their required skills annually.

Throughout each academic year the Governing Body meet on four occasions with the following sub-committees organised half termly:

Resources Sub-Committee Finance, Premises and Health and Safety

Teaching and Learning

Pupil Welfare and Support.

Governors act as a 'critical friend' to this school by offering advice and challenge to ensure that statutory functions of our school are met. The Headteacher and school staff are directed by the Governing Body to implement immediate and longer term policy and procedures. 

At Adel St John the Baptist Church of England Primary School, the Governing Body is made up of thirteen representatives. This includes the Headteacher, Jane Hainsworth,  The Rector of St John the Baptist Church, Reverend Dr Ian White (ex officio), two Parent Governors who are elected by the parents, one Staff Governor who is elected by staff, both teaching and non-teaching, one Local Authority Governor, Caroline Anderson and the remaindert are Foundation Governors nominated by the Church and the Diocese.  


 Mrs Maureen Taylor - Chair of the Governing Body

Resources Sub-Committee, Pay Committee, Headteacher's Pay Appraisal Panel, Teaching and Learning Sub-Committee, Pupil Support and Wellbeing Committee and Other Responsibilities Committee. 

Mrs Jane Hainsworth  Headteacher

Resources Sub-Committee, Pay Committee, Teaching and Learning Committee, Pupil Support and Wellbeing Committee, Other Responsibilities Committee

Mrs Caroline Anderson 

Local Authority Governor and Pupil Support and Wellbeing Committee Chair, Headteacher's Pay Appraisal Panel, Other Responsibilities Committee

Mr James Harrison

Foundation Governor

Mrs Esther Ralston

Foundation Governor, Pupil Support & Wellbeing Committee

Mr Will Clifton 

Foundation Governor, Resources Sub-Committee Chair

Mr Andrew Neal 

Foundation Governor, Health and Safety, Resources Sub-Committee 

Mrs Sharleen Hamilton

Parent Governor, Teaching and Learning Sub-Committee

Mrs Loveday Loveridge 

Parent Governor, Teaching and Learning Sub-Committee 

Mr Allan Dawson 

Foundation Governor, Pay Committee, Headteacher's Pay Appraisal Panel, Safeguarding & Child Protection Governor


Mrs Jill Holloway

Foundation Governor, Teaching and Learning Sub-Committee, Pupil Support and Wellbeing Committee

Mrs Heather Fountain

Staff Governor,  Teaching and Learning Sub-Committee, Pupil Support and Wellbeing Committee